Awesome Older Games

So I’ve been playing my games again after digging in my collection. I generally will find three to five different games for different consoles that I want to play and always find it hard to choose. So I almost always end up just playing all five after I find the cables, consoles, and controllers; obviously not always in that order hehe. Anyway, a few days ago I found a few very classic titles, well in mind at least, these included: Shining Force 3 for Sega Saturn (very awesome game), Super Contra for NES, and Battletoads for NES (my ALL TIME  favorite!!). Of course when faced with these great titles which one to play first…

Battletoads for NES

I picked Battletoads obviously because I personally have been trying to get past the fourth level since I was five years old… If you are familiar with this game it is pretty much impossible, as I personally would rate this in top five hardest games EVER! So needless to say I got fed up with this after about an hour and didn’t want to break my NES.

Shining Force 3 for Sega Saturn

So, I switched over to The Sega Saturn, which I love playing by the way. I have the lucky opportunity to own a Blue Skeleton Derby see through Japanese Console that I play American games with the Action Replay cartridge (very cool feature of Saturn). Shining Force 3 is actually a harder game to come by these days unless you want to pay an arm and a leg for, however one can still locate the game pretty easily sometimes for super cheap. I love the turn based strategy of this game in particular because I feel it was ahead of its time. It also, in my opinion, has a great replay value and isn’t necessarily an easy game to beat, involving hours of gameplay. Very very fun game both visually and also just as a video game.

Super Contra for NES

Needles to say another very hard game is Contra, let alone Super Contra! However, I absolutely love the sounds and gameplay of both the titles. If you haven’t had the chance to experience these great titles, please do yourself a favor and try to get ahold of them! If you need help with levels just let me know haha as some parts of all of these require some practice. Older games seem to only get harder after long periods of not playing them, especially if you are used to newer, easier titles. Anyway that was stupid long and if you made it this far thank you for enjoying some great titles, maybe I have motivated you to break out the old consoles again!!

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

